

## **Worthing Excelsior Cycling Club**



## Club 10 mile Time Trial The Don Lock Evening 10 Memorial Series

#### Course G10/98

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations



Event No 1 - Thursday 29th April 2021

**Event Secretary: Paul Townsley Assistant Event Secretary: Claire Booker** 

### Report

The good news is that it's great to be back at long last. With Covid having wiped out last season this was the first evening 10 since 4<sup>th</sup> August 2021. The surprising news is that a mere 16 riders took to the start line.

The Covid regulations meant that there could be no start marshal so each rider had one foot on the ground and then had to clip in super quickly. And, sadly, there were none of the usual refreshments.

The VTTA standards have changed slightly for the coming season just two years after the last revamp. The revised figures are now in use for the vets' series competition.

With club champion and multiple record holder Nik Allen having switched to Team TMC it was John McGrath who put down an early marker in the race towards the 2021 series title. John also put in an early lead for the vets' series title too.

Nice to see some 'new' names. Hugo and Carey McLaughlin have returned to the club and entered the fray. A particular welcome goes to new member Aaron Butler who competed in his first ever time trial.

### **Scratch Classification**

Pos	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	WECC Points
1	14	John McGrath	Worthing Excelsior CC	V57	21:45	1
2	15	Spencer Kirkham	Worthing Excelsior CC	V53	22:22	2
3	3	Nolan Heather	Worthing Excelsior CC	V45	22:57	3
4	2	Ian Cheesman	Worthing Excelsior CC	V52	23:12	4
5	6	Trevor Leeding	Worthing Excelsior CC	V55	23:20	5
6	13	Kelvin Newman	Worthing Excelsior CC	S37	23:38	6
7	1	Andrew Lock	Worthing Excelsior CC	V54	23:42	7
8	12	Huw Williams	Worthing Excelsior CC	V52	24:04	8
9	10	Hugo McLaughlin	Worthing Excelsior CC	S23	24:31	9
10	5	Rick Hughes	Worthing Excelsior CC	V58	24:37	10
11	4	Ian Newbold	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	25:04	11
12	16	Aaron Butler	Worthing Excelsior CC	V40	27:48	12
13	9	Carey McLaughlin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V54	27:51	13
	11	Colin Toppin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	DNF	

# **Scratch Classification Private Entries**

Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	
	8	Martin Gibbs	Team TMC	S34	21:33
	7	Brian Jones	Morden CRC	V70	26:31

### **Fastest Veteran on Standard**

Pos	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	VTTA Std	Vet +/-
1	14	John McGrath	Worthing Excelsior CC	V57	21:45	27:30	+5:45
2	15	Spencer Kirkham	Worthing Excelsior CC	V53	22:22	27:07	+4:45
3	6	Trevor Leeding	Worthing Excelsior CC	V55	23:20	27:18	+3:58
4	2	Ian Cheesman	Worthing Excelsior CC	V52	23:12	27:01	+3:49
5	1	Andrew Lock	Worthing Excelsior CC	V54	23:42	27:12	+3:30
5	3	Nolan Heather	Worthing Excelsior CC	V45	22:57	26:27	+3:30
7	5	Rick Hughes	Worthing Excelsior CC	V58	24:37	27:37	+3:00
8	12	Huw Williams	Worthing Excelsior CC	V52	24:04	27:01	+2:57
9	4	Ian Newbold	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	25:04	26:41	+1:37
10	9	Carey McLaughlin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V54	27:51	27:12	-0:39
11	16	Aaron Butler	Worthing Excelsior CC	V40	27:48	26:06	-1:42
	11	Colin Toppin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	DNF	26:41	

# Fastest Veteran on Standard Private Entries

Pos	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	VTTA Std	Vet +/-
1	7	Brian Jones	Morden CRC	V70	26:31	29:19	+2:48

### **Combined Results**

Pos	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	Position on Std
1	8	Martin Gibbs	Team TMC	S34	21:33	
2	14	John McGrath	Worthing Excelsior CC	V57	21:45	1
3	15	Spencer Kirkham	Worthing Excelsior CC	V53	22:22	2
4	3	Nolan Heather	Worthing Excelsior CC	V45	22:57	6
5	2	Ian Cheesman	Worthing Excelsior CC	V52	23:12	4
6	6	Trevor Leeding	Worthing Excelsior CC	V55	23:20	3
7	13	Kelvin Newman	Worthing Excelsior CC	S37	23:38	
8	1	Andrew Lock	Worthing Excelsior CC	V54	23:42	5
9	12	Huw Williams	Worthing Excelsior CC	V52	24:04	8
10	10	Hugo McLaughlin	Worthing Excelsior CC	S23	24:31	
11	5	Rick Hughes	Worthing Excelsior CC	V58	24:37	7
12	4	Ian Newbold	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	25:04	10
13	7	Brian Jones	Morden CRC	V70	26:31	9
14	16	Aaron Butler	Worthing Excelsior CC	V40	27:48	12
15	9	Carey McLaughlin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V54	27:51	11
	11	Colin Toppin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	DNF	

**Event Secretary** Assistant Event Secretary

Paul Townsley Claire Booker

#### **Very Grateful Thanks To:**

Timekeeper (start):

Timekeeper (finish):

Start Marshal

Recorder:

Results Service

Joan Lennon

Robert Downham

Simon Steeles

Adrian Palmer

Mike O'Gorman