



EVENING 10 SERIES - No 15 (G10/98) Thursday 24th July 2014 Promoted for and on behalf of **Cycling Time Trials** under their rules and regulations

Report

A very curious evening where, for many, nothing happened as it was supposed to.

During the day the decision had been taken to move the event to course G10/97 (the Steyning based course) as lane closures were scheduled for the southbound A24 starting at eight o'clock. Then, as riders were signing on, it became clear that the alternative course would be out of action due to the chaos caused by a road traffic accident. So the event was switched back to the usual course in the hope that the roadworks would be late in starting as there was no sign of activity. This involved recalling marshals and riders who had already set off in the wrong direction.

As it turned out the event was able to complete without interruption.

The blazing hot weather had led many to hope for improved times but this did not happen as several riders were off their recent pace, due at least in part to the adverse wind.

Individual misfortune was rife too. Trevor Leeding, bidding to catch Simon Atkinson on 6 points, punctured on course. Mike O'Gorman had a disk wheel failure before even getting to the start line. Rick Hughes broke his visor after the race when removing his helmet. Chris McNamara (Pedal Heaven Colborne RT) intended to ride but the battery on his bike died so he didn't even get to sign on. And just to round things off nicely Marc Clothier (Southdown Bikes) was run into the kerb by a vehicle at Washington roundabout.

Finally - on to the actual racing:

Dom Maxwell recorded his first ever first place with 21:55, followed by Carl Trevis on 22:11 and Ian Cheesman on 22:37.

Tom Glandfield (Lewes Wanderers) was the fastest rider on the night with 20:43.

Trevor's puncture has all but confirmed Simon as the WECC 10 mile series champion for 2014. Trevor now needs to win the two final rides with an aggregate time of 42:01 to nick it at the post. Even if he had not punctured it was very unlikely that the time could be made up so it's just made it more certain mathematically.





 $\begin{array}{c} \mbox{RESULTS SHEET - EVENING 10 SERIES - No 15 (G10/98)} \\ \mbox{Thursday 24}^{th} \mbox{July 2014} \\ \mbox{Promoted for and on behalf of } \mbox{Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations} \end{array}$

Scratch Classification

Overall Position	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	WECC Points
1	3	Dominic MAXWELL	WECC	V41	00:21:55	1
2	9	Carl TREVIS	WECC	V40	00:22:11	2
3	8	Ian CHEESMAN	WECC	V45	00:22:37	3
4	6	Rick HUGHES	WECC	V51	00:22:59	4
5	13	Colin BARTON	WECC	V53	00:23:41	5
6	14	Robert DOWNHAM	WECC	V46	00:24:10	6
7	22	Chris PUTNAM	WECC	V49	00:24:22	7
8	2	Allan ORMAN	WECC	V68	00:25:24	8
9	16	Jeff BLUNSDON	WECC	V43	00:25:36	9
10	15	Andrew LOCK	WECC	V47	00:26:22	10
11	23	Shaeff POTTER	WECC	J	00:26:43	11
12	21	Chris BRAMLEY	WECC	V56	00:27:38	12
13	1	Bernard SKINNER	WECC	V65	00:29:28	13
	4	Trevor LEEDING	WECC	V48	DNF	
	20	Mike O'GORMAN	WECC	V62	DNS	

Scratch Classification Private Entries

Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time
24	Tom GLANDFIELD	LEWES WANDERERS	V41	00:20:43
12	Marc CLOTHIER	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	S	00:21:04
7	Andy TEDD	a3crg	V46	00:22:21
11	Emma CRADDOCK	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	WS	00:23:27
10	Tamar VANDERHAAS	LEWES WANDERERS	WS	00:24:12
17	Ade FADERO	SUSSEX NOMADS	V52	00:24:30
5	David AVERY	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	V52	00:25:10
25	Lisa GLANDFIELD	LEWES WANDERERS	WV41	00:27:10
19	Elaine SCOTT	BRIGHTON EXCELSIOR	WV65	00:29:30
18	George VARGHA	BRIGHTON EXCELSIOR	V72	00:29:56





 $\begin{array}{c} \mbox{RESULTS SHEET - EVENING 10 SERIES - No 15 (G10/98)} \\ \mbox{Thursday 24}^{th} \mbox{July 2014} \\ \mbox{Promoted for and on behalf of } \mbox{Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations} \end{array}$

Fastest Veteran on Standard

Overall Position	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	VTTA Std	Vet +/-
1	3	Dominic MAXWELL	WECC	V41	00:21:55	00:26:04	+04:09
2	6	Rick HUGHES	WECC	V51	00:22:59	00:26:50	+03:51
3	9	Carl TREVIS	WECC	V40	00:22:11	00:25:59	+03:48
4	8	Ian CHEESMAN	WECC	V45	00:22:37	00:26:23	+03:46
5	2	Allan ORMAN	WECC	V68	00:25:24	00:28:42	+03:18
5	13	Colin BARTON	WECC	V53	00:23:41	00:26:59	+03:18
7	22	Chris PUTNAM	WECC	V49	00:24:22	00:26:41	+02:19
8	14	Robert DOWNHAM	WECC	V46	00:24:10	00:26:27	+02:17
9	16	Jeff BLUNSDON	WECC	V43	00:25:36	00:26:13	+00:37
10	15	Andrew LOCK	WECC	V47	00:26:22	00:26:32	+00:10
11	21	Chris BRAMLEY	WECC	V56	00:27:38	00:27:14	-00:24
12	1	Bernard SKINNER	WECC	V65	00:29:28	00:28:14	-01:14
	4	Trevor LEEDING	WECC	V48	DNF	00:26:36	
	20	Mike O'GORMAN	WECC	V62	DNS	00:27:51	

Fastest Veteran on Standard Private Entries

Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	VTTA Std	Vet +/-
24	Tom GLANDFIELD	LEWES WANDERERS	V41	00:20:43	00:26:04	+05:21
7	Andy TEDD	a3crg	V46	00:22:21	00:26:27	+04:06
17	Ade FADERO	SUSSEX NOMADS	V52	00:24:30	00:26:54	+02:24
5	David AVERY	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	V52	00:25:10	00:26:54	+01:44
19	Elaine SCOTT	BRIGHTON EXCELSIOR	WV65	00:29:30	00:30:31	+01:01
25	Lisa GLANDFIELD	LEWES WANDERERS	WV41	00:27:10	00:28:08	+00:58
18	George VARGHA	BRIGHTON EXCELSIOR	V72	00:29:56	00:29:26	-00:30





RESULTS SHEET - EVENING 10 SERIES - No 15 (G10/98) Thursday 24th July 2014 Promoted for and on behalf of **Cycling Time Trials** under their rules and regulations

Combined Results

Overall Position	Rider No	Name	Club	Cat/ Age	Actual Time	Position on Std
1	24	Tom GLANDFIELD	LEWES WANDERERS	V41	00:20:43	1
2	12	Marc CLOTHIER	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	S	00:21:04	
3	3	Dominic MAXWELL	WECC	V41	00:21:55	2
4	9	Carl TREVIS	WECC	V40	00:22:11	5
5	7	Andy TEDD	a3crg	V46	00:22:21	3
6	8	Ian CHEESMAN	WECC	V45	00:22:37	6
7	6	Rick HUGHES	WECC	V51	00:22:59	4
8	11	Emma CRADDOCK	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	WS	00:23:27	
9	13	Colin BARTON	WECC	V53	00:23:41	7
10	14	Robert DOWNHAM	WECC	V46	00:24:10	11
11	10	Tamar VANDERHAAS	LEWES WANDERERS	WS	00:24:12	
12	22	Chris PUTNAM	WECC	V49	00:24:22	10
13	17	Ade FADERO	SUSSEX NOMADS	V52	00:24:30	9
14	5	David AVERY	SOUTHDOWNS BIKES	V52	00:25:10	12
15	2	Allan ORMAN	WECC	V68	00:25:24	7
16	16	Jeff BLUNSDON	WECC	V43	00:25:36	15
17	15	Andrew LOCK	WECC	V47	00:26:22	16
18	23	Shaeff POTTER	WECC	J	00:26:43	
19	25	Lisa GLANDFIELD	LEWES WANDERERS	WV41	00:27:10	14
20	21	Chris BRAMLEY	WECC	V56	00:27:38	17
21	1	Bernard SKINNER	WECC	V65	00:29:28	19
22	19	Elaine SCOTT	BRIGHTON EXCELSIOR	WV65	00:29:30	13
23	18	George VARGHA	BRIGHTON EXCELSIOR	V72	00:29:56	18
	4	Trevor LEEDING	WECC	V48	DNF	
	20	Mike O'GORMAN	WECC	V62	DNS	

Event Secretary

Barrie Le Grove

Very Grateful Thanks To:

Timekeeper (start):	Nathan Gale
Timekeeper (finish):	Mick Irons
Recorder:	Tony Palmer
Start Marshal:	Simon Atkinson
Course Marshals:	John Lucas (Findon), Joan Lennon (Ashington), Adrian Palmer (Washington)
Catering:	Barrie Le Grove